Home > Welcome to the Czech Republic

Welcome to the Czech Republic


 The Official Website of the Czech Republic 






Basic information

The Czech Republic (CR) has a 78,864 km sq. area

and population is 10,5 mil. Prague is the capital and

largest city with 1,2 million inhabitants. Brno and Ostrava

are another important and large cities of the country. The

Czech Republic covers the territory of the historic lands of

Bohemia, Moravia and a part of Silesia. For administrative

purpose, the country is divided into 14 regions.


The Czech Republic is a land-locked country which is situated

in the central part of Europe. The state frontiers border on Poland,

Germany, Austria and Slovakia.



In 2012, the average gross salary of Czech employees was nearly CZK 25.137. The minimum salary in the Czech Republic is CZK 8.000. The life expectancy is 80 and 74 years for females and males.


Czech industrial production has a long tradition and many products are known and respected worldwide. Among the traditional Czech products belong lead crystal, cut glass, porcelain, Bohemian garnet, beer, automobiles Škoda and others.



Before the arrival of Slavs in the 6th century, the territory had been inhabited by Germanic and Celtic tribes. The Czech state was formed in the late 9th century under the Přemyslids. Many rulers and kings ruled the People in Bohemia from the 7th to 19th centuries. During the reign of Charles IV (1346-1378) Prague grew into one of the largest cities in Europe. It acquired its Gothic face and landmarks including Charles University (first university in Central Europe), Charles Bridge and St. Vitus Cathedral. In the second half of the 16th century, the city experienced great prosperity under Emperor Rudolf II. He established a great collection of art and renowned artists and scholars were invited to his court.


At the beginning of the 20th century, Bohemia was part of the Austrian Empire. After World War I, in 1918 Czechoslovakia declared its independence so the new Republic had three parts: Bohemia, Moravia and Slovakia. In March 1939, Germany occupied Bohemia and Moravia. After World War II, in 1945, Czechoslovakia was re-established as an independent state. Three years later the Communists took control of the country and Czechoslovakia became a communist-ruled state. The communist government resigned in November 1989 after a week of demonstrations known as the Velvet Revolution. The popular Vaclav Havel became president of the Republic. In 1993, Czechoslovakia split into two independent countries: Czech Republic and Slovak Republic. 


Czech Republic is member NATO, the OECD, the OSCE, the Council of Europe and the Visegrád Group. On May 1, 2004, Czech Republic became also part of the European Union.  


Political system

The Czech Republic is a parliamentary democracy with the President (Miloš Zeman, from 2013) as the head of the State. The Parliament consists of two chambers, the Chamber of Deputies (200 seats, 4 year terms) and the Senate (81 seats, 6 year terms). The executive in the Czech Republic is represented by President and Government consisting of Prime Minister and Ministers, and is the supreme branch. Next to the legislative and executive powers, the judicial power is the third pillar of power. It is executed by independent courts. 



The Czech Republic as a landlocked country has moderate climate with four seasons corresponding to the temperate climate zone, which is characterized by cool summers and cold, cloudy and humid winters. The average temperature in January, the coldest winter month is -5 degrees Centigrade and around +23 degrees Centigrade in July, the warmest summer month.




The Czech Republic on the web pages:

Last Update: 2013-10-09 17:30:52

EURAXESS CZ - Contacts


The Foreign Researcher's Guide to the Czech Republic




czech_language_courses.jpgCzech language courses



Survey - academia and industry collaboration




Evaluating EURAXESS: participate to the on-line survey!